Architectural appeal for Graz

Extraordinary shapes, dynamically flowing lines and outward-facing eyes - bubbles - create a contemporary, architectural flair right in the middle of the Gründerzeit facades of the Graz old town. With ARGOS, the city of Graz underscores its architectural vision together with project developer WEGRAZ, and once again backs up its reputation as an architecture stronghold.

www.zaha-hadid.com
Zaha Hadid
„My buildings promise optimism. In any case, I believe that I can express something in the architecture, something that we don’t suspect is possible – an order of things, a different view of the world.“

As early as 2004, the great architect Zaha Hadid won the international competition initiated by WEGRAZ for the development of the area in the historic Graz inner city. After years of coordination work with the old town expert commission and urban planning, the ground-breaking finally took place in 2015.

the name
ARGOS by Zaha Hadid Architects

the architecture
Another friendly Alien is bringing
art and design to town

planned completion
2020

ARGOS, the name of the project, says it all. The generously dimensioned window elements protruding from the facade are reminiscent of the proverbial eyes of Argos, the mythical giant with its countless eyes, some of which are always open. Some of the "bubbles" are integrated as an extension to the room, so you can move from the living room directly into the window curvature and quasi immerse yourself in the city life from there.

argos-graz.at
Dr. Reinhard Hohenberg and Mag. Dieter Johs
„ARGOS will enrich the cityscape. We can imagine that many visitors will come to Graz simply because of such buildings.“

Architektonische Strahlkraft für Graz

Außergewöhnliche Formen, eine dynamisch geschwungene Linienführung und nach außen gestülpte Augen – Bubbles – setzen inmitten der Gründerzeitfassaden der Grazer Altstadt zeitgenössische architektonische Akzente. Mit ARGOS unterstreicht die Stadt Graz gemeinsam mit dem Projektentwickler WEGRAZ ihre architektonische Vision und begründet einmal mehr ihren Ruf als Architekturhochburg.

www.zaha-hadid.com
Zaha Hadid
„Meine Bauten versprechen Optimismus. Ich glaube jedenfalls daran, dass ich in der Architektur etwas ausdrücken kann, von dem wir noch nicht ahnen, dass es möglich ist – eine Ordnung der Dinge, ein anderer Blick auf die Welt.“

Bereits 2004 gewann die großartige Architektin Zaha Hadid den von der WEGRAZ international ausgelobten Wettbewerb für die Bebauung des Areals in der historischen Grazer Innenstadt. In jahrelanger Abstimmungsarbeit mit der Altstadtsachverständigenkommission und der Stadtplanung erfolgte 2015 schließlich der Spatenstich.

Der Name
ARGOS by Zaha Hadid Architects

Die Architektur
Another friendly Alien is bringing
art and design to town

Geplante Fertigstellung
2018

ARGOS, der Name des Projektes, ist Programm. Die groß dimensionierten, aus der Fassade ragenden Fensterelemente erinnern an die sprichwörtlichen Argusaugen von Argos, dem mythischen Riesen mit seinen unzähligen Augen, von denen immer einige geöffnet waren. Teilweise werden die „Bubbles“ als Erweiterung in den Raum integriert, sodass man sich vom Wohnraum aus direkt in die Fensterwölbung bewegen und von hier aus quasi ins Stadtleben eintauchen kann.

www.wegraz.at
Dr. Reinhard Hohenberg und Mag. Dieter Johs
„ARGOS wird das Stadtbild bereichern. Wir können uns vorstellen, dass zahlreiche Besucher gerade solcher Gebäude wegen nach Graz kommen.“